Selçuk University

Type of Organisation: Higher Education Institute

Selçuk University was established in 1975 and started teaching with two faculties, namely, Faculty of Science and Letters. As of today, Selçuk University is among the leading higher education institutions of our country with 23 faculties, 6 institutes, 5 colleges, 22 vocational schools, 1 state conservatory and around 76,000 students.

According to the results of monitoring and evaluating the performances of “research capacity”, “research quality” and “interaction and collaboration”, Selçuk University is one of the five candidate research universities supported by the Higher Education Council (YÖK) in terms of academic staff and budget opportunities. Until today, 4 universities from Selcuk University have been connected to the units that form the basis of the establishment of these universities. The universities to which the units from Selçuk University are connected are Niğde University, which was established in 1992, Karamanoğlu Mehmetbey University, which was established in 2007, Konya Necmettin Erbakan University, which was established in 2010, and finally Konya Technical University, which was founded in 2018. 

As of 2018, Selçuk University has a total of 2,462 academic staff: 436 professors, 217 associate professors, 415 doctor lecturers, 633 lecturers, 761 research assistants and 4.017 administrative staff. The number of students per academic staff is 31.93. With a population of about 83 thousand people, Selcuk University is, according to the figures released by the Turkish Statistics Institute, larger than 10 provincial centers and, according to the international publications data released by the Higher Education Council (HEC), ranks 8th. In addition to campuses in 18 districts within the borders of the province of Konya, our University has a campus in the city centre of Konya which covers an area of 14.5 million square meters.

The university has an area of 637 thousand m2 in the city center and 112 thousand m2 in the districts. There are a total of 1,340 educational areas (amphitheater, classroom, laboratory and computer laboratory). The components of the research infrastructure of Selçuk University are constituted by 341 research laboratories, 37 Research and Application Centers, BAP, KOSGEB-TEKMER, Konya Technology Development Zone (INNOPARK), Konya Technopark and Selçuk TTO, especially ILTEK and DUAMER.

ILTEK has vast experience participating and coordinating EU funded projects, completed FP7-NMP (LAMAND), FP7-SME-2012 (CHITOCLEAN), FP7-SME-2013 (LIGNOFOOD), FP7-INFRA-2012 (EU-SOLARIS) and 2013-1-IT1-LEO04- 04203-7 “CONTINUOUS VOCATIONAL TRAINING FOR INNOVATION IN SMES” multilateral project. ILTEK coordinates S&T, R&D activities in the university with collaboration of SMEs as well as university-industry relationship, also provides the sustainability of those activities. 

According to the 2018-2019 World Field Ranking announced by the University Ranking by Academic Performance (URAP) Research Laboratory within the METU Informatics Institute, Selçuk University was listed as 831 in the field of “Engineering”, 830 in the field of “Medicine and Health Sciences” and 995 in the field of “Chemical Science”. As a result of the quality-oriented studies of Selçuk University, all 22 Vocational Schools and 22 units affiliated to the Rectorate were entitled to receive the TS EN ISO 9001-2015 Quality Management System Certificate. Certification process continues in other units. According to Scopus data of Scimago Institute 2018, our university is ranked in the top 8 universities in our country and 678 in world’s ranking. 2.483 foreign students from 114 countries, including France, Germany, Israel, Afghanistan, Thailand, Sweden and Norway, receive education at our university.

The university has also 341 laboratories and over 45 researches and application centers. Konya Technopark provides offices for rental to technology companies. Founded in late 2004, Konya Technopark is one of the fastest developing technoparks in Turkey with its more than 117 R&D companies, includes 27 incubation, 13 preincubation companies with 220 R&D employees.

With the inception of EU Research and Application Center, over 200 bilateral agreements were signed within the framework of Erasmus+. An Erasmus House that is the only one of its kind in Turkey, was built at Selcuk University to meet the accommodation needs of foreign students. Selcuk University has embraced the understanding of being; active, prosperous, focused on superior performance, aiming to becoming a world university with its international recognition and innovative nature.